vs

23andMe combines ancestry with selected genetic-health reports. AncestryDNA focuses on ancestral origins, DNA relatives and family-history research. The main choice is whether you want health information alongside ancestry, or tools for exploring your family tree.

At a glance

23andMeAncestryDNA
What they sell

2 one-time tests

1 one-time test

Price

$208.99–$508.99

$108.95

Coverage

Genetic health, carrier and ancestry reports · Genotyping + clinical exome reports

Ancestry and basic DNA matching

Offerings
  • Premium Ancestry + Health$208.99Genetic health, carrier and ancestry reports
  • Total Health$508.99Genotyping + clinical exome reports
  • Kit$108.95Ancestry and basic DNA matching

Compare offerings

Comparing
Price

$208.99

Then $99/yr

One-time purchase

Then $99 per year

$108.95

One-time purchase

Coverage

Genetic health, carrier and ancestry reports

Ancestry and basic DNA matching

What’s included

Results and features included with each selected offering.

Only 23andMe

Results and features

  • CancerPartialNot stated by AncestryDNA
  • Heart and blood vesselsPartialNot stated by AncestryDNA
  • Brain healthNot stated by AncestryDNA
  • Metabolic healthNot stated by AncestryDNA
  • Carrier screeningPartialNot stated by AncestryDNA
  • Medication responseNot stated by AncestryDNA
  • Alzheimer's (APOE)Not stated by AncestryDNA
  • Parkinson's diseaseNot stated by AncestryDNA
  • Inherited clotting disorders (such as Factor V Leiden and prothrombin)Not stated by AncestryDNA
  • Celiac diseaseNot stated by AncestryDNA
  • Type 2 diabetesPartialNot stated by AncestryDNA
  • Hereditary hemochromatosisNot stated by AncestryDNA
In both

Results and features

  • Ancestry
  • Traits and wellness
Only AncestryDNA

None

Getting tested

Both use a saliva sample collected at home and mailed to a lab. These kits test selected genetic variants; neither starting kit is whole-genome sequencing.

23andMePremium Ancestry + HealthAncestryDNAKit
How you get tested

At-home saliva kit

Collect saliva at home; prepaid return mailer

Sample

Saliva

At-home saliva

How your DNA is read

Genotyping chip (selected variants)

Genotyping microarray · selected variants

Lab

CLIA-certified US labs (not named)

Not stated

Who orders it

Self-ordered

Self-ordered; each adult registers their kit; guardian path for minors

Clinician order

Not needed

Not needed

Results and help

Both provide ancestry estimates and DNA matches. 23andMe adds genetic-health reports; AncestryDNA connects matches with family-history tools. Neither starting kit includes a clinical results consultation.

23andMePremium Ancestry + HealthAncestryDNAKit
Report contents

Genetic reports in your account, with ancestry tools and the health reports in your selected plan.

Ancestral-origin estimates, DNA matches and the basic traits included with the kit.

Access

Results in the web account and iPhone/Android app. · Downloadable raw genotype file; some features require the web account.

Online ancestry results and basic matching · Three basic traits; full Traits extra · Downloadable genotype text; no clinical consultation

Results timing

About 3–4 weeks after the lab receives the saliva sample.

Usually within six weeks of lab receipt

Downloads and sharing

Genotype text file in a ZIP, usually available within a week of requesting it.

Download genotype text in a ZIP through verified account access. DNA-match lists cannot be exported.

Report updates

New reports added throughout the year

Ancestry estimates may update; features can change

Help included

AI assistant

—

Cost and terms

23andMe Premium includes a membership that renews annually. AncestryDNA keeps core DNA results available without a membership, while advanced tools and historical-record access cost extra.

23andMePremium Ancestry + HealthAncestryDNAKit
Price breakdown

Purchase: $208.99 · Renewal: $99 / year

Purchase: $108.95

Data sale and research use

Research participation is opt-in; service-provider and legally required disclosures follow the privacy policy

External research opt-in; service providers also process data

Law-enforcement requests

Requires a subpoena, court order or warrant; notifies you first unless prohibited

No voluntary investigative access; valid legal process can compel disclosure

Purchase and account terms

Cancel renewal before the next billing period. Access continues until the paid period ends. Basic reports remain after premium access ends. The selected plan renews annually. The first year is included in the purchase; renewal and clinical-service terms follow the selected plan. Research and matching are separate choices. Research participation, relative sharing and sample storage are optional choices. Deletion has legal record-retention exceptions. Age and state rules depend on the tier. The genetic-health service is for eligible adults; follow the selected plan’s state requirements.

Genealogy tools can cost extra. Core DNA results remain available without a genealogy subscription; advanced tools are separate. External research is optional. External research is optional, and DNA matching uses your sharing choices. A guardian manages a child’s kit. Adults register their own kit; a parent or legal guardian manages a minor’s test.

Take a closer look

23andMePremium Ancestry + Health