vs

Both providers offer ancestry results and DNA matches, with separate choices for health information. The starting comparison pairs 23andMe Premium Ancestry + Health with MyHeritage’s standalone ancestry kit. MyHeritage DNA 360° is its separate health-report offering and can be selected below.

At a glance

23andMeMyHeritage
What they sell

2 tests

2 one-time tests

Price

$208.99–$508.99

Est. $110–$499

Coverage

Genetic health, carrier and ancestry reports · Genotyping + clinical exome reports

30× whole-genome carrier, common-risk, Alzheimer, ancestry and wellness reports. · Ancestry results and DNA matches; health reports are sold separately.

Offerings
  • Premium Ancestry + Health$208.99Genetic health, carrier and ancestry reports
  • Total Health$508.99Genotyping + clinical exome reports
  • DNA 360°$49930× whole-genome carrier, common-risk, Alzheimer, ancestry and wellness reports.
  • DNA ancestry kitEst. $110Ancestry results and DNA matches; health reports are sold separately.

Compare offerings

Comparing
Price

$208.99

Then $99/yr

Purchase with renewing membership

est. $110

One-time purchase

Check availability in OH

Coverage

Genetic health, carrier and ancestry reports

Ancestry results and DNA matches; health reports are sold separately.

What’s included

Results and features included with each selected offering.

Only 23andMe

Results and features

  • CancerPartial
  • Heart and blood vesselsPartial
  • Brain health
  • Metabolic health
  • Carrier screeningPartial
  • Medication response
  • Alzheimer's (APOE)
  • Parkinson's diseaseNot stated by MyHeritage
  • Inherited clotting disorders (such as Factor V Leiden and prothrombin)Not stated by MyHeritage
  • Celiac diseaseNot stated by MyHeritage
  • Type 2 diabetesPartialNot stated by MyHeritage
  • Hereditary hemochromatosisNot stated by MyHeritage
In both

Results and features

  • Ancestry
Only MyHeritage

None

Neither includes rare-disease screening.

Getting tested

23andMe uses an at-home saliva sample; MyHeritage uses cheek swabs. The selected 23andMe kit tests selected genetic variants. MyHeritage’s ancestry kit does not include the health reports sold with DNA 360°.

23andMePremium Ancestry + HealthMyHeritageDNA ancestry kit
How you get tested

At-home saliva kit

At-home DNA sample returned by mail

Sample

Saliva

At-home cheek swab

How your DNA is read

Genotyping chip (selected variants)

Current standard pipeline: 2× low-pass whole-genome sequencing plus imputation; historical kits used genotyping

Lab

CLIA-certified US labs (not named)

Gene by Gene, Houston, Texas

Who orders it

Self-ordered

Self-ordered genealogy kit

Clinician order

Not needed

Not needed

Results and help

Both selected kits provide ancestry results and relative matching. 23andMe also includes selected genetic-health reports. MyHeritage connects DNA matches with family-history tools. Neither selected kit includes a clinical results consultation.

23andMePremium Ancestry + HealthMyHeritageDNA ancestry kit
Report contents

Genetic reports in your account, with ancestry tools and the health reports in your selected plan.

Ancestry results or DNA 360° health reports, depending on the kit purchased.

Access

Results in the web account and iPhone/Android app. · Downloadable raw genotype file; some features require the web account.

Web account · MyHeritage app

Results timing

About 3–4 weeks after the lab receives the saliva sample.

Not stated

Downloads and sharing

Genotype text file in a ZIP, usually available within a week of requesting it.

Free raw marker downloads for processed kits; WGS kits also offer CRAM downloads.

Report updates

New reports added throughout the year

Ongoing genealogy matching/ethnicity feature updates; paid upgrades may be separate

Help included

AI assistant

—

Cost and terms

23andMe Premium includes a membership that renews annually. The selected standalone MyHeritage kit has no required renewal; historical records and some genealogy tools are separate subscriptions.

23andMePremium Ancestry + HealthMyHeritageDNA ancestry kit
Price breakdown

Purchase: $208.99 · Renewal: $99 / year

Test and included services: $89 · Standard outward delivery: $12 estimated · US sample return postage: $9 estimated · About this price: Includes estimated $12 delivery and $9 sample return. Delivery uses a prior regular-rate reference; current promotional shipping may be free. Return uses a light USPS parcel allowance.

Data sale and research use

Research participation is opt-in; service-provider and legally required disclosures follow the privacy policy

No genetic/health-data sale or licensing without explicit consent; research consent required; service, legal and business-transfer exceptions apply

Law-enforcement requests

Requires a subpoena, court order or warrant; notifies you first unless prohibited

Prohibits police use of DNA Services; required-by-law/legal-proceeding exceptions remain

Purchase and account terms

Cancel renewal before the next billing period. Access continues until the paid period ends. Basic reports remain after premium access ends. The selected plan renews annually. The first year is included in the purchase; renewal and clinical-service terms follow the selected plan. Research and matching are separate choices. Research participation, relative sharing and sample storage are optional choices. Deletion has legal record-retention exceptions. Age and state rules depend on the tier. The genetic-health service is for eligible adults; follow the selected plan’s state requirements.

Genealogy subscriptions are separate. The ancestry kit and DNA 360° have distinct access terms; genealogy subscriptions are separate. Genetic research requires consent. Genetic research uses explicit consent; police use of DNA Services is prohibited, with required-by-law exceptions. DNA 360° includes US physician oversight. DNA 360° includes independent US physician oversight; counseling is available when the clinical team recommends it.

Take a closer look

23andMePremium Ancestry + Health
MyHeritageDNA ancestry kit