vs

23andMe Premium combines ancestry and selected genetic-health reports from a genotyping test. Sequencing.com offers whole-genome sequencing with health-report bundles and downloadable genome files. The choice is about the reports and data you want, not just how much DNA is read.

At a glance

23andMeSequencing.com
What they sell

2 tests

3 tests

Price

$208.99–$508.99

$399–$999

Coverage

Genetic health, carrier and ancestry reports · Genotyping + clinical exome reports

30× whole-genome sequencing · reports across 5 health areas · 30× whole-genome sequencing · reports across 10 health areas · 30× whole-genome sequencing · reports across 20 health areas

Offerings
  • Premium Ancestry + Health$208.99Genetic health, carrier and ancestry reports
  • Total Health$508.99Genotyping + clinical exome reports
  • Rare Disease + Carrier$39930× whole-genome sequencing · reports across 5 health areas
  • Comprehensive Health$59930× whole-genome sequencing · reports across 10 health areas
  • Professional Health$99930× whole-genome sequencing · reports across 20 health areas

Compare offerings

Comparing
Price

$208.99

Then $99/yr

Purchase with renewing membership

$599

Then est. $39/mo

Purchase with renewing membership

Coverage

Genetic health, carrier and ancestry reports

30× whole-genome sequencing · reports across 10 health areas

What’s included

Results and features included with each selected offering.

Only 23andMe

Results and features

  • AncestryAdd-on with Sequencing.com
  • Celiac diseaseNot stated by Sequencing.com
  • Traits and wellnessNot stated by Sequencing.com
  • BRCA1PartialNot stated by Sequencing.com
  • BRCA2PartialNot stated by Sequencing.com
  • MUTYHPartialNot stated by Sequencing.com
  • CYP2C19Not stated by Sequencing.com
  • SLCO1B1Not stated by Sequencing.com
  • DPYDNot stated by Sequencing.com
  • APOE ε4 statusNot stated by Sequencing.com
In both

Results and features

  • CancerPartial with 23andMe
  • Heart and blood vesselsPartial with 23andMe
  • Brain health
  • Metabolic health
  • Carrier screeningPartial with 23andMe
  • Medication response
  • Alzheimer's (APOE)
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Inherited clotting disorders (such as Factor V Leiden and prothrombin)
  • Type 2 diabetesPartial with 23andMe
  • Hereditary hemochromatosis
Only Sequencing.com

Results and features

  • Rare-disease screening

Add-ons with Sequencing.comAncestry

Getting tested

The selected 23andMe kit uses saliva and tests selected variants. Sequencing.com’s Comprehensive bundle uses cheek swabs for whole-genome sequencing at an advertised average depth of 30×.

23andMePremium Ancestry + HealthSequencing.comComprehensive Health
How you get tested

At-home saliva kit

At-home kit, mailed to the lab

Sample

Saliva

Cheek swab, mailed to lab

How your DNA is read

Genotyping chip (selected variants)

Whole genome, average 30x; coverage gaps possible

Lab

CLIA-certified US labs (not named)

Provider says US CLIA-certified/CAP-accredited partner labs; not named

Who orders it

Self-ordered

Self-purchased; free account/activation required

Clinician order

Not needed

Not needed

Results and help

23andMe provides ancestry matching and selected health reports. Sequencing.com’s bundle provides health reports and more extensive downloadable genome files. Neither selected purchase includes a human results consultation.

23andMePremium Ancestry + HealthSequencing.comComprehensive Health
Report contents

Genetic reports in your account, with ancestry tools and the health reports in your selected plan.

Genetic health reports and downloadable genome files for the selected sequencing bundle.

Access

Results in the web account and iPhone/Android app. · Downloadable raw genotype file; some features require the web account.

Free raw genome-file access · Plan-dependent health reports · Additional marketplace reports purchased separately

Results timing

About 3–4 weeks after the lab receives the saliva sample.

Allow about 6–8 weeks after laboratory receipt.

Downloads and sharing

Genotype text file in a ZIP, usually available within a week of requesting it.

FASTQ, SNV/InDel VCF, SV/CNV VCF, compatibility TXT; BAM/MITO VCF on request; free raw access; raw files and purchased marketplace reports can remain on Free

Report updates

New reports added throughout the year

One month of Premium monthly updates included; continued updates use the paid plan.

Help included

AI assistant

—

Cost and terms

23andMe Premium renews annually. Sequencing.com includes one month of Premium after sequencing, then renews monthly unless downgraded. Its Free plan retains raw-data access, while paid features depend on the plan.

23andMePremium Ancestry + HealthSequencing.comComprehensive Health
Price breakdown

Purchase: $208.99 · Renewal: $99 / year

Purchase: $599 · Renewal: $39 estimated / month · About this price: Includes one month after sequencing. Renewal is estimated from the published Premium plan rate; the kit-specific monthly rate may differ. No annual commitment for the included kit plan; downgrade to Free before renewal to stop charges.

Data sale and research use

Research participation is opt-in; service-provider and legally required disclosures follow the privacy policy

Research consent applies; service/development and ad sharing also apply. AI data may reach third parties with potentially indefinite retention.

Law-enforcement requests

Requires a subpoena, court order or warrant; notifies you first unless prohibited

May disclose for lawful requests and other legal/protection grounds

Purchase and account terms

Cancel renewal before the next billing period. Access continues until the paid period ends. Basic reports remain after premium access ends. The selected plan renews annually. The first year is included in the purchase; renewal and clinical-service terms follow the selected plan. Research and matching are separate choices. Research participation, relative sharing and sample storage are optional choices. Deletion has legal record-retention exceptions. Age and state rules depend on the tier. The genetic-health service is for eligible adults; follow the selected plan’s state requirements.

Kit sales are final; plan renewal can be stopped. Downgrade to Free at least one day before renewal. Return activated kits within the stated kit deadline. The included Genome Plan renews monthly. The bundle’s introductory month begins after sequencing; paid tools require the applicable plan. Qualifying raw files and purchased reports can remain on Free, while subscription AI outputs are deleted after downgrade. AI tools can use third-party services. Genetic information, reports and chat may be processed by outside AI services. Research consent is separate from service processing. Activate before mailing your sample. Use the supplied swabs for the registered person and follow the kit’s return deadline.

Take a closer look

23andMePremium Ancestry + Health
Sequencing.comComprehensive Health