vs
Viome and Tiny Health both offer home gut testing with food and lifestyle recommendations. Viome analyzes microbial RNA; Tiny Health analyzes microbial DNA. Viome also sells a broader gut, oral and blood package. The detailed comparison starts with their adult gut tests.
At a glance
3 one-time tests
3 one-time tests
$279–$399
$169–$249
RNA sequencing · microbial activity across 400+ pathways · RNA sequencing · gum, dental and breath scores · RNA sequencing · gut, oral and blood
Gum, cavity and bad-breath bacteria/scores · Shotgun DNA · microbial profile
- Gut Intelligence$279RNA sequencing · microbial activity across 400+ pathways
- Oral Health Intelligence$341.05RNA sequencing · gum, dental and breath scores
- Full Body Intelligence$399RNA sequencing · gut, oral and blood
- Bristle Oral Health Test$169Gum, cavity and bad-breath bacteria/scores
- Adult Gut Health Test$249Shotgun DNA · microbial profile
- Vaginal Health Test$249Shotgun DNA · microbial profile
Compare offerings
$279
One-time purchase
$249
One-time purchase
RNA sequencing · microbial activity across 400+ pathways
Shotgun DNA · microbial profile
What’s included
Results and features included with each selected offering.
None
Results and features
- Bacteria
- Fungi and yeast
- ParasitesPartial with Tiny
- Viruses
- Diversity
- Microbial function
Results and features
- Named disease-causing organismsNot stated by Viome
Neither includes gut inflammation marker (calprotectin or lactoferrin), pancreatic elastase, secretory iga, hidden blood (occult blood / fit), fecal fat, short-chain fatty acids (measured), blood cellular-health scores.
Getting tested
Both starting tests use a stool sample collected at home. Viome’s RNA analysis examines microbial activity; Tiny Health’s DNA analysis profiles microbes and estimates their functions from their genes.
At-home stool kit, mailed
Home stool swab, mailed
Stool swab
Home stool swab from used toilet tissue; room temperature
RNA sequencing (metatranscriptomics); computational pathway and wellness scores
Shotgun microbial DNA sequencing
Not stated
Species-level; selected-strain detail per Tiny Health
Viome's own CLIA-certified lab, Bothell, WA
US CLIA-certified, CAP-accredited lab, per Tiny Health
Self-order; state-dependent physician authorization included in price
Self-order; activate kit and complete surveys
Results and help
Viome provides gut wellness scores and algorithmic food guidance. Tiny Health provides a microbial profile, written recommendations and an included group results review; private coaching costs extra.
Active-organism results, gut wellness scores and personalized food recommendations.
A gut microbial profile with diversity, estimated microbial functions and written recommendations.
Web · App · Emailed PDF report
Web · PDF report
Usually 2–3 weeks after lab receipt, sometimes 4–6; reprocessing can add time.
3–4 weeks after laboratory receipt; mailing/activation can add time.
Emailed PDF report
PDF report
Provider suggests about 6 months; optional repeat purchase
Provider often suggests once or twice yearly; sample report example six months
Algorithmic food guidance; optional separate personalized formulas
Personalized food, lifestyle and supplement suggestions; products extra
—
Coaching · Microbiome specialist · Group session · Included
—
Live consultation · Coach · Extra cost
Cost and terms
Compare the test purchase separately from repeat testing, supplements and private support. Viome’s broader Full Body Intelligence package adds saliva and blood samples; it is a different purchase from its gut test.
Purchase: $279
Purchase: $249
Cancel promptly if you change your mind. Direct kits qualify for a full refund within 24 hours. Through day 14, an unused, unsubmitted kit can be refunded less the stated processing fee; submitted samples are nonrefundable. Your data may support research and service improvements. Viome’s privacy policy describes sharing and retention, including exceptions after an account is closed. Personalized formulas are optional purchases. Choose Single test to avoid repeat-test billing, or select the repeat option with its own renewal terms. Check the ordering route for your location. New York testing is available. Children over four need a separate account and parent or guardian consent.
The included results review is a group session. Results are shown to other participants, and sessions are recorded internally. Choose private coaching if you prefer an individual discussion. Gut and vaginal tests include a group review. Private coaching is an optional extra; the Bristle oral kit has its own written-report service. Availability depends on the kit. The Bristle oral kit is unavailable in New York; check the selected gut or vaginal purchase for its own eligibility.